• Search




    FAQ Newsletters Subscription Contact Us




  • A1The NEC was established on January 21, 1963 as an independent constitutional agency compatible with the National Assembly, the Government, Courts and the Constitutional Court of Korea.
  • A2The NEC is in charge of managing and overseeing all public elections including entrusted elections, referenda and residents voting. Furthermore, the NEC has focused on the management of political parties, political funds and other political activities such as activities to enhance public awareness, train public servants and establish global relationships for researching and studying a foreign countrys election system and structure. In addition, the NEC is doing its utmost in improving the politics structure and election system to support the development of political system and procedure, etc.
  • A3The EC has a fourtier structure consisting of the National Election Commission(NEC) at the top, and 16 Si(special metropolitan city)/Do(province) ECs, 249 Gu(ward)/Si(city)Gun(county) ECs, and 3,469 ECs in each Eup(town)/ Myeon(township)/ Dong(village).
  • A4The NEC is composed of nine members. Three members are appointed by the President, three are elected by the National Assembly, and the other three are nominated by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. The chairperson and the standing commissioner are elected from among the commissioners and as is its custom, a Justice of the Supreme Court is elected to be the chairperson. Standing commissioner is a fulltime job unlike the chairperson, and supports the chairperson and oversees Secretariat according to an order of the chairperson. The term of office is constitutionally guaranteed to be six years.
    The NEC includes the Secretariat, the Internet Election News Deliberation Commission, and the Election Debate Broadcasting Commission.
  • A5The NEC Secretariat is composed of a minister-level Secretary General and vice minister-level Deputy Secretary General in addition to two offices, seven bureaus, one training institute, and twenty five divisions. All staff members` status is in national government employees and the personnel management of secretariat such as recruiting, promoting, and appointing independently lies under the authority of the NEC.